ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL

COUNCIL

LEGAL AND REGULATORY SUPPORT

24 February 2022

POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

1. INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 The purpose of this report is to update Council on changes to the political composition of Argyll and Bute Council, following the election of Councillor Paul Collins to the Lomond North Ward.
- 1.2 The report also asks Council to consider making appointments to the vacant position on the Community Services Committee and to the vacant substitute position on the Valuation Joint Board.

2. RECOMMENDATIONS

- 2.1 The Council is invited to:
 - a) note the updated Political Composition of Argyll and Bute Council which is attached at Appendix 1;
 - b) make an appointment to the vacant position on the Community Services Committee; and
 - c) Nominate a substitute member to the Dunbartonshire & Argyll and Bute Valuation Board.

3. DETAIL

- 3.1 Councillor Paul Collins was elected to represent the Lomond North Ward following the by-election which was held on 16th December 2021. Councillor Collins has advised that as a Conservative Councillor he will be joining the Council Administration Group. Accordingly, the Political Composition of the Council has been updated and is attached at Appendix 1.
- 3.2 At the Council meeting held on 25th November 2021, Members considered the appointments to the vacant Committee and Outside Body positions which arose following the resignation of Councillor Barbara Morgan. Council agreed to continue consideration of these appointments until the outcome of the Lomond North by-election. The vacancies are as follows:-

3.3 Community Services Committee

The Community Services Committee, in addition to its responsibilities with regards to the Community Services Department and related functions, discharges the powers and duties of the Council as Education Authority. It has 16 members and the current membership is:

- Councillor Jim Anderson
- Councillor Gordon Blair
- Councillor Mary-Jean Devon
- Councillor Lorna Douglas
- Councillor Audrey Forrest
- Councillor Kieron Green (Vice Chair)
- Councillor Graham Archibald Hardie
- Councillor Donald MacMillan
- Councillor Julie McKenzie
- Councillor Yvonne McNeilly (Chair)
- Councillor lain Paterson
- Councillor Alan Reid
- Councillor Elaine Robertson
- Councillor Gemma Penfold
- Councillor Liz McCabe
- Vacancy

3.4 Dunbartonshire & Argyll and Bute Valuation Joint Board (DABJV)

A vacancy exists for a substitute member on the DABVJB and the Council is invited to make an appointment to the vacancy. The current membership is:

Substantive Reps

Cllr D MacMillan

Cllr GA Hardie

Cllr A Redman

Cllr I Paterson

Cllr R Trail

Subs

Cllr J Anderson

Cllr J McGrigor

Cllr L Douglas

Cllr G Blair

Vacancy

4. CONCLUSION

4.1 This report notifies the Council of updates to the political composition of the Council. It further invites Council to consider appointments to Committees and outside bodies.

5. IMPLICATIONS

- 5.1 **Policy:** This is in keeping with the Council's commitment to working in partnership with other agencies to benefit the people and communities of Argyll and Bute and to ensuring appropriate arrangements for strategic direction and oversight by elected members.
- 5.2 **Financial:** Travel and Subsistence costs for attending meetings if required.
- 5.3 **Legal:** None
- 5.4 **HR:** None
- 5.5 **Fairer Scotland Duty:** None
- 5.5.1 **Equalities protected characteristics:** None
- 5.5.2 **Socio-economic Duty:** None
- 5.5.3 Islands: None
- 5.5.4 Climate Change: None
- 5.6 **Risk:** addresses risk of underrepresentation in outside bodies.
- 5.7 **Customer Service:** None

Douglas Hendry
Executive Director with Responsibility for Legal and Regulatory Support

1st February 2022

Policy Lead: Councillor Mary Jean Devon

For further information please contact Patricia O'Neill, Governance Manager, telephone 01546 604384 or email patricia.oneill@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Appendix 1 - Updated Political Composition of Argyll and Bute Council

ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL

POLITICAL COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL

February 2022

ARGYLL AND BUTE FIRST GROUP(3)

Cllr George Freeman (Ind)
Cllr Donald Kelly (Con)

Cllr Douglas Philand (Ind) - Leader, Argyll and Bute First Group

ARGYLL AND BUTE SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY GROUP (11)

Cllr John Armour

Cllr Gordon Blair

Cllr Lorna Douglas

Cllr Jim Findlay

Cllr Audrey E Forrest - Depute Leader, SNP Group

Cllr Anne Horn

Cllr Jim Lynch- Leader, SNP Group

Cllr Julie McKenzie

Cllr Iain Shonny Paterson

Cllr Sandy Taylor

Cllr Richard Trail

THE ARGYLL, LOMOND AND THE ISLANDS GROUP (19)

Cllr Paul Collins (Con)

Cllr Rory Colville (LD)

Cllr Robin Currie (LD) - Leader, The Argyll, Lomond and the Islands Group

Cllr Mary Jean Devon (Ind)

Cllr Bobby Good (Ind Con)

Cllr Kieron Green (Ind)

Cllr Graham Hardie (LD)

Cllr David Kinniburgh (Con)

Cllr Liz McCabe (Ind)

Cllr Roderick McCuish (ISP)

Cllr Sir Jamie McGrigor (Con)

Cllr Donald MacMillan BEM (Ind)

Cllr Yvonne McNeilly (Con)

Cllr Aileen Morton (LD)

Cllr Gary Mulvaney (Con) – Depute Leader, The Argyll, Lomond and the Islands Group

Cllr Gemma Penfold (Con)

Cllr Alan Reid (LD)
Cllr Elaine Robertson (Ind)
Cllr Andrew Vennard (Con)

COUNCILLORS NOT POLITICALLY ALIGNED (3)

Cllr Jim Anderson (Ind)
Cllr Jean Murray Moffat (Ind)
Cllr Alastair Redman (Ind)

NOTE

Con – Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
ISP – Independence for Scotland Party
Ind – Independent*

LD – Scottish Liberal Democrat
SNP – Scottish National Party

*Ind prefix + political party name indicates not a member of local political party group

There are 36 seats on Argyll and Bute Council.